PRELUDE:  Elegy by George Thalben-Ball



HYMN:  Let Us with a Gladsome Mind (Psalm 136) [Monkland]


INTROIT:  My Refuge by Susan D’Amico/arr. by Hal Wright

I will praise your name. I will bless your name, lifting up my hands to you in prayer!  How I thirst for you in this weary land, for your kindness is better than life!  Oh God, my God, you are my refuge.  You are my strength, I cling to you.  And in the shadow of your mighty wings, you watch over me! [From Psalm 63]



HYMN:  O God, You Are My God Alone (Psalm 63) [Gratus]

SERMON:  “Satisfied on Empty”

ANTHEM:  Your Love is Finer than Life by Marty Haugen

Oh God, I seek You, my soul thirst for You, Your love is finer than life.  As a dry and weary desert land, so my soul is thirsting for my God, and my flesh is faint for the God I seek, for Your love is more to me than life.  I think of You when at night I rest, I reflect upon Your steadfast love.  I will cling to You, oh Lord my God, in the shadow of Your wings I sing.  I will bless Your name all the days I live, I will raise my hands and call on You.  My joyful lips shall sing Your praise, You alone have filled my hungry soul.   


HYMN:  Jesus, Thy Boundless Love to Me [St. Catherine]


BENEDICTION RESPONSE:  May the Peace of God Surround You by Gary Matheny

May the peace of God surround you, may his love your spirit fill anew, may his Holy Spirit be your guide, now and till the end of time.  Alleluia, Amen.  

 POSTLUDE:  Fanfare (Psalm 81:1-3) by John Cook

(Sing aloud to God our strength; shout for joy to the God of Jacob. Raise a song, sound the tambourine, the sweet lyre with the harp.  Blow the trumpet at the new moon, at the full moon, on our festal day. [Psalm 81:1-3])

Nominating Committee Slate of Officers being presented in Congregational Meeting following 10:00 a.m. Today:

  • Trustees:  2024 – Hubert Lloyd, Drury Wisdom; 2025 – Jen Schwing, Ed Story; 2026 – Kris Hall, Jeff Sutton
  • Elders:  2026 – Kris Hall, Karen Kennedy, Jeff Sutton, Mark Wiley
  • Deacons:  2024 – Ray Law; 2025 – Cynthia Olson; 2026 – Lea Lindley, Ruben Lindley, Sandy Smeby, Felecia Taylor
  • 2023 Nominating Committee At-large Members:  Nancy Downs, Shelley Hellen, Sharon Siska, Jo Sutton

Would you like to sponsor flowers for one week for worship?  You can place your order for any Sunday throughout 2023 by using this link that takes you to Covenant’s Flowers for Worship form —

 You are invited to go to your app store and download our Covenant Presbyterian Church app – CovenantLB

Write a comment:

© 2015 Covenant Presbyterian Church
Follow us: